Young Scientists Session (YSS)

The evaluation sheet is available to evaluate the presentations of young scientists!

Young Scientists Session (YSS) - Detailed information

Young scientists are a unique group of researchers within the academia world, as they are a constant stream of people that have innovative ideas and research, which can either support or challenge existing ways of thinking about the world around us. However, the majority of young scientists leave academia within three years of their research programme being completed. Consequently, and quite often not, many of these ideas and their research leaves as well, without the exposure they deserve.

The Young Scientists Session (YSS) is a unique and special occasion that the IDRiM conference provides every year to young scientists as an opportunity to present their innovative research to a wider audience. The session is composed of two parts: Oral session and Interactive session. All young speakers give talks in the BOTH parts. Please follow the following instructions.

Before the conference

Please submit the PDF version of your presentation file to the organizers: isumadecip@ubbcluj.ro and matthews.ayuna.5n@kyoto-u.ac.jp no later than 20st September.

It will be stored in the shared folder, so that all the conference participants, including those who cannot list to the talks in the YSS session time due to the time difference or in another session, can access the presentation slides and vote for the award competition during the conference.

During the conference

The sessions are scheduled to take place on Thursday 22nd September at the following times:

1. Oral Session

04:10 – 05:50 EDT (East Coast United States);

10:10 – 11:50 CEST (Western and Central Europe);

11:10 – 12:50 EEST (Romania and Eastern Europe);

13:40 – 15:20 IST (India);

17:10 – 18:50 JST (Japan)

2. Interactive Session

06:00 – 07:00 EDT (East Coast United States);

12:00 – 13:00 CEST (Western and Central Europe);

13:00 – 14:00 EEST (Romania and Eastern Europe);

15:30 – 16:30 IST (India);

19:00 – 20:00 JST (Japan)

The Oral sessions take place in four parallel rooms. Please check the program to find which room you have been allocated and the order of your session and enter the room 5 minutes prior to the start of the session. In the Oral session, each speaker is given five minutes for presenting and two minutes for discussion.

After the Oral session, please move to the Interactive session room, where the Zoom break is prepared for each pair of YSS speaker. The breakout room is given the YSS speaker’s name, and each of the speakers are expected to intensively discuss with visitors for the one hour period. The speakers can use the presentations slides again as well as other supplemental materials to explain details of their study. Remember the case that it might be the first time for some visitors to see your presentation because they have participated in another room during the Oral session.

Best Young Scientist Award

Like IDRiM has done every year, we have organized the “Best Young Scientist Award” competition, where we request all the senior researchers to serve as judges.

Presentations are evaluated according to the following three criteria:

  1. Substance of Study –   50%
  2. Attractiveness of presentation –   30%
  3. Discussion with Audience –   20%

The award ceremony will take place during the closing ceremony of the conference on Friday 23rd September at the following time:

  • 01:00 – 01:30 EDT (East Coast United States);
  • 07:00 – 07:30 CEST (Western and Central Europe);
  • 08:00 – 08:30 EEST (Romania and Eastern Europe);
  • 10:30 – 11:00 IST (India);
  • 14:00 – 14:30 JST (Japan)

We strongly recommend that ALL YSS participants to attend the closing ceremony.

After the conference

The top three YSS awardees from IDRiM 2022, will be invited to a specially arranged session, in December 2022, to give these awardees a chance to give a full academic style presentation, as a way to celebrate their achievement. The exact date and time of this event will be decided between the YSS and events committee and awardees in the weeks following the IDRiM 2022 conference.

All YSS participant are encouraged to submit full-length paper. They will be reviewed, and accepted papers will be published in the IDRiM journal. Further details about the journal are available at the following link: https://www.idrimjournal.com/

Please note:

If you would like to submit your paper, please submit your full paper to the IDRiM Journal, and send an e-mail to the IDRiM Secretariat (matthews.ayuna.5n@kyoto-u.ac.jp) informing your submission.

Qualification to be a Young Scientist is neither given by a physical age nor a position. Presenters of past YSSs were mainly graduate students, PhD candidates, researchers who received their PhD degree within the past 2-3 years, and researchers who made their debut in international academic discussion. If you are not sure if you can enter the YSS session, you can send an email to the IDRiM Secretariat (see email above).